Track Skills

ft_critical

Track Skills

Postby ft_critical » Tue Dec 18, 2018 4:33 pm

Hello all.

Newbie here. I have done my first track session, a 100 lapper. Then an elimination race - mixed grade. I was near the front for the elimination race and riding the black line in second wheel. Two riders on different occasions rode around the outside and then dropped in across the red line. I got spooked each time and semi-stopped pedalling (bike jumped a bit). I am used to close racing in a crit or a road race because I have a lot of control over my speed and position, AND, I am used to contact in the bunch. But I am really unsure how to deal with it on the track. The second time I moved onto the (azure line)... Now clearly this is newbie fear and lack of awareness of the actual personal space I need to ride safely. I know that will come with experience, but,

Can you please give me some tips/tricks on close racing, positioning, what do do in contact (clearly stopping pedaling and yielding my position is not an option) etc?

Thanks all advice gratefully received,

FT

Derny Driver

Re: Track Skills

Postby Derny Driver » Tue Dec 18, 2018 5:48 pm

Hi mate, Ive had the privilege to see lots of great track riders doing what they do, and marvel at their skills. Last weekend I saw the Austral wheelrace, national TP and Team sprint titles, and the mens and womens national madison championships - from trackside. I was able to chat at length to Sam Welsford, Kell O'Brien, Leigh Howard and Cameron Scott ...the top 4 track riders in the country. Ive also been lucky to coach / train some of our best masters track riders, multiple National and World champions, talk tactics with them and watch them from trackside as they race. I am a very lucky man indeed.
Now back to your question ...