Does anyone have experience with Naked Optics sunglasses?

coolski

Does anyone have experience with Naked Optics sunglasses?

Postby coolski » Mon Aug 30, 2021 2:30 pm

Hi,

I'm a cycling newbie and am after some gear advice. I am have been trying to find affordable sunglasses that also offer quality and protection. I came across Naked Optics sunglasses via an Instagram sponsored post. There are two models, Hawk and Falcon, that they advertise specifically for cycling. The links are below. Does anyone have experience with their sunglasses????

https://nakedoptics.com.au/products/the-hawk
https://nakedoptics.com.au/products/the-falcon

Thanks in advance.

AUbicycles
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: Does anyone have experience with Naked Optics sunglasses?

Postby AUbicycles » Tue Aug 31, 2021 6:38 am

Be careful of these cool new brands. On the one gand, yes, they have the modern looks but the issue is always the lens quality. In short, distortion which can magnify and shift the view. Your brain does a good job of correcting these and I don’t know if it then an eye strain, but the permanent correcting is tiring for the eyes. This is where a number of brand name glasses come out in front and do much better in the clarity and precision… or in summary, the quality of the lens.

For me, I would want to test them first before buying… otherwise, if that isn’t important, there are a heap of online brands with simple lenses and cool looks for less.
Cycling is in my BNA

coolski

Postby coolski » Tue Aug 31, 2021 10:08 pm

Thank you for the feedback. I did find one review, but it is based on the Falcon's use in ski touring. The review does comment on the lens quality and verifies the specs on the website. I assume these test results would transfer over to cycling. Would that be safe to assume?

https://snowaction.com.au/spring-is-spr ... n-sunnies/

AUbicycles
Site Admin
Site Admin

Postby AUbicycles » Sat Sep 25, 2021 6:52 pm