Gravel tyres

warthog1

Gravel tyres

Postby warthog1 » Mon Aug 09, 2021 9:24 am

I have no gravel experience bar a bit of mtb
Considering one of these;
https://www.giant-bicycles.com/au/revolt-advanced-2

There is a long rail trail nearby that goes to Heathcote.
Hard packed fine gravel.
Plenty of graded dirt roads nearby too.
After grip obviously, but speed through lower rolling resistance is important. Will also need to ride a bit of bitumen to get to the dirt on occasion.
Will be going tubeless.
What tyres do people recommend for that?

Considering these so far in no particular order.
Prob a 38 or 40c

https://www.tufo.com/en/gravel/detail/gravel-speedero/

https://www.schwalbetires.com/bike_tires/g-one-allround

https://www.continental-tires.com/bicyc ... erra-speed
Dogs are the best people :wink:

RonK

Re: Gravel tyres

Postby RonK » Mon Aug 09, 2021 10:38 am

My new Grizl came fitted with Schwale G One Bite, but I opted for Pirelli Cinturato Gravel H. Many of my rides are urban and I think they will roll faster in hard surfaces.

I ridden around 200km on them so far and they do roll very nicely. I haven't had the opportunity to try them on gravel yet.

There is also a more grippy M version.

https://www.pushys.com.au/catalogsearc ... gravel%20h

I'll be selling the G One Bite if anyone is interested. 700x45 tan wall. Never used.

Vittoria also now offer my favourite tyre - the Mezcal in 700x35. I'll probably use these or the Terreno Dry next year on my backroads tour in NZ.
Last edited by RonK on Mon Aug 09, 2021 11:42 am, edited 4 times in total.
Cycle touring blog and tour journals: whispering wheels...

caneye

Postby caneye » Mon Aug 09, 2021 10:49 am

Panaracer Gravel King SK is a very popular choice.
I've used it on all the surfaces you mentioned - hard-packed gravel, graded surface, bitumen. Grippy and low rolling resistance. I am on 35mm.